Home Page
Heartwood CE VC Primary and Nursery School
Learn to Love – Love to Learn!

The Heartwood staff community

Senior Leadership Team 

Headteacher-     Mrs Emily McMillen 

Deputy Headteacher-    Mrs Rebecca Starman

SENDCo and Inclusion lead- Miss Leonie Pagett


Wider Leadership Team

School Excellence Leader- Miss Jennifer Robbins 

School Excellence Leader- Mr Jordan Grass


Office Staff

Business Support Officer-   Mrs Denise Allen 

Receptionist-   Mrs Emma Rowles 



Mouse Class

Miss Jennifer Robbins-   Teacher

Mrs Laura Powley-   Teaching Assistant

Miss Laura Dennis-  Teaching Assistant am



Rabbit Class

Miss Marie Compton-  Teacher

Mrs Sophie Watson-  Cover Supervisor 0.8 

Mrs Cara Butters-   HLTA 0.2

Miss Jane Sugden-  Teaching Assistant 

Mrs Karen Friend-   SEND Teaching Assistant 


Year 1 

Hedgehog Class

Mr Ben Powley-  Teacher 

Miss Gina Edwards- SEND Teaching Assistant

Mrs Hayley Wright- Teaching Assistant 


Year 2

Deer Class

Mrs Ali Raybould-   Teacher 

Mrs Jonquil Cornwell-  Teaching Assistant

Miss Kayleigh Dunton- Teaching Assistant 


Fox Class

Ms Debbie Mann-   Teacher 

Mrs Ruth Harwood- Am Teaching Assistant 

Miss Laura Dennis- Pm Teaching Assistant 


Year 3

Otter Class

Mrs Bex Starman-   Teacher 0.4

Mrs Diana Oake-  Teacher 0.6

Miss Carrie Fisher-  HLTA

Mrs Carla Curtis-   SEND Teaching Assistant 


Year 4

Owls Class

Mr Jordan Grass- Teacher

Miss Holly Comb- Teaching Assistant 

Mrs Lisa Davies- Teaching Assistant 


Mole Class Year 2/3/4

Mrs Tamsin Mann- Teacher

Mrs Christine Dye-  HLTA

Mrs Nicola Weeks- Cover Supervisor 


The Retreat 

Mrs Helen Goacher-  Thrive, children's SEMH and Pastoral Practitioner 


Additional Roles

Ms Lesley Gurney- Heartwood Family Support Worker 

Mrs Denise Allen-  Attendance Support Advisor 

Mrs Cara Butters-  Forest School Teacher 

Josh Thurston- Heartwood Football Academy  (ICS Sports coach) 

Mrs Ruth Harwood-   Phonics and reading intervention 

Miss Carrie Fisher- Nelson's Journey Ambassador

Mrs Nicola Weeks- Cover Supervisor 

Mrs Ali Raybould- Early Careers Teacher mentor 

Mrs Emily McMillen- Early Career Teacher Induction Co-ordinator 

Mrs Jonquil Cornwell and Miss Holly Comb- PiXL Therapy leads 

Mrs Sarah Pickard- music teacher 



Mrs Kila Gagen-  Senior MSA

Mrs Karen Friend

Mrs Kim Powley 

Miss Ute Tingay

Miss Holly Bowman 

Mrs Debbie Haynes

Mrs Lisa Davies

Mrs Suzanne Pearson 



Mr Terry Ware 



Mrs Tansy Creed 

Mrs Kim Powley




Subject Ambassadors


Maths- Jordan Grass

English- Bex Starman

Science- Diana Oake

PE/Sports- Tamsin Mann 


Art/ Design and Design Technology- Jen Robbins and Marie Compton

History- Jordan Grass

Geography- Leonie Pagett 

Global Citizenship- Emily McMillen

Religious Education- Bex Starman

Music- Phoebe Harrison 

Computing- Tamsin Mann

RSHE/ Life Skills- Ali Raybould

Modern Foreign Languages- Ali Raybould